Homestead Exemption

Homestead exemptions provide relief from property taxes by exempting all or a portion of the valuation of a home from taxation. The State of Nebraska reimburses the counties and governmental subdivisions for taxes lost due to homestead exemptions. The percentage of relief is based on the applicant’s income level and home valuation.

Who Can Qualify for Homestead Exemptions

  • Persons who are age 65 or older before January 1
  • Certain physically disabled individuals
  • Certain disabled veterans and their widows or widowers
  • The home must be owned and occupied from January 1 through August 15.

Volunteers Assisting Seniors (VAS) assists with Homestead Exemption filing at Douglas County help sites located around the metro area.  Homestead applications must be filed with the county assessor after February 1, and on or before June 30 of each year. Current homestead recipients will receive an application by mail.

For questions about your homestead filing go to Douglas County Homestead Exemption.



Share This